Program & Agenda

Session Schedule


87 Funding and finance in support of coral reef research, conservation and education - Building local and global capacity to reverse coral reef decline

Session organizer(s)

Melissa Walsh, James Cook University
melissa@marineconservationfinance.com

Jason Vasques, The Coral Reef Alliance
jvasques@coral.org

Sean Marrs, The Nature Conservancy
smarrs@tnc.org

Christopher LaFranchi, OneReef
chris@onereef.org

Jean Tanimoto, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
jean.tanimoto@noaa.gov

Madhavi Colton, The Coral Reef Alliance
mcolton@coral.org

Manuel Mejia, The Nature Conservancy
mmejia@tnc.org

Christopher Filardi, Center for Biodiversity & Conservation, American Museum of Natural History
filardi@amnh.org

Brad Wong, Office of Hawaiian Affairs
bwong@tnc.org



Date: 06/22/2016

Please click on the title of an abstract to view the complete abstract.


Poster Presentations


Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

715
Henley, M.; Heckman, M.; Weaver, L.; Chan, T.; Hagedorn, M.; KULIA MARINE SCIENCE SCHOLARS CLUB - BUILDING CAPACITY WITHIN OUR LOCAL HIGH SCHOOLS FOR CORAL REEF SCIENCE (Abstract ID:28976) P

716
Heckman, M. B.; Ching, C.; CONNECTING A RESEARCH INSTITUTION TO THE PUBLIC, BUILDING ON A 5 YEAR TIMELINE WHILE THINKING 7 GENERATIONS OUT (Abstract ID:29180) P

718
Rivera, M.; Manning, M. M.; Ambrosino, C. M.; EXPERIENTIAL COURSES FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS AT THE HAWAII INSTITUTE OF MARINE BIOLOGY (Abstract ID:29958) P


Date: 06/24/2016

Please click on the title of an abstract to view the complete abstract.


Oral Presentations


Location: 303 A/B

13:45
Walsh, M.; MARINE CONSERVATION FINANCE: IMPROVING THE AMOUNT, EFFICACY, AND EFFICIENCY OF INVESTMENT INTO CORAL REEF MANAGEMENT (Abstract ID:28947) O

14:00
LaFranchi, C. L.; Andrew, W.; DIRECT FINANCING OF CONSERVAITON ON THE GROUND: A MODEL FOR PALAU AND BEYOND (Abstract ID:29694) O

14:15
Mendes, J. M.; Minshall, P.; PETER MINSHALL'S WATER COLOURS: AN INNOVATIVE APPROACH TO CORAL REEF CONSERVATION AND CONSERVATION FINANCING IN TOBAGO (Abstract ID:28740) O

14:45
Myton, J. C.; Leahy, K.; Palavicini, G.; Vasques, J.; ENSURING EFFECTIVE CO-MANAGEMENT OF MARINE PROTECTED AREAS IN THE MESOAMERICAN REEF: STRATEGIES FOR INVESTING IN LOCAL MANAGEMENT (Abstract ID:29822) O

15:00
Lloyd, A. J.; Garwood, M.; Turner, K.; Rechtorik, C.; FOSTERING SOLUTIONARIES AND OCEANPRENEURS IN OCEAN YOUTH�S CORAL WORKSHOP (Abstract ID:29899) O

15:30
MCorry, D. M.; INDUSTRY AND RESEARCH COLLABORATION TO LEVERAGE CORAL REEF SCIENCE FOR ENVIRONMENTAL RISK ASSESSMENT AND MANAGEMENT (Abstract ID:28142) O