Program & Agenda

Session Schedule


66 Human-natural coupled reef systems: Integrating indigenous and western sciences for sustainable management solutions

Session organizer(s)

Nicole Crane, Oceanic Society/Cabrillo College
nicrane@cabrillo.edu

F. Joseph Pollock, Pennsylvania State University
FJPollock@psu.edu

Misaki Takabayashi, University of Hawai'i at Hilo
misakita@hawaii.edu

Michelle Paddack, Oceanic Society/Santa Barbara City College
michelle.paddack@gmail.com

Andrew Chin, James Cook University
Andrew.Chin@jcu.edu.au

Peter Nelson, HT Harvey
p.nelson6@gmail.com

Karin Gerhardt, Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
karin.gerhardt@gbrmpa.gov.au

Kehau Springer, Coastal Community Capacity Development Advisor, Conservation International
kspringer@conservation.org

Giacomo Bernardi, University of California Santa Cruz
bernardi@ucsc.edu

Malcolm Mann, Central Queensland University
ilsep@cqu.edu.au

Aulani Wilhelm, Ocean Initiative Program, NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
aulani.wilhelm@noaa.gov



Date: 06/20/2016

Please click on the title of an abstract to view the complete abstract.


Oral Presentations


Location: 302 A/B

10:00
Kalua, M.; Takabayashi, M.; Ku'ula Students, K.; Tangaro, T.; 'UKU 'AKO'AKO'A: KIN RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE CORAL AND PEOPLE IN NATIVE HAWAIIAN EPISTEMOLOGY (Abstract ID:28875) O

10:15
Puniwai, N.; Parrain, C.; SEASCAPE IDENTITIES; UNDERSTANDING VALUES AND CULTURAL PATTERNS (Abstract ID:29278) O

10:30
Goo, N. M.; KI�INA A�O LAWAI�A (Abstract ID:30143) O

10:45
Mann, M. L.; CQUNIVERSITY INDIGENOUS LAND AND SEA EDUCATION PROGRAM (Abstract ID:28026) O

11:00
Bonito, V. E.; Ravonoloa, K.; Simpson, R.; OUTCOMES AND LESSON�S LEARNED AFTER 14 YEARS OF COMMUNITY-BASED CO-MANAGEMENT INITIATIVES ON FIJI�S CORAL COAST. (Abstract ID:29796) O

11:15
Nawata, H.; INDIGENOUS CLASSIFICATION AND UTILIZATION OF THE RED SEA BLACK CORAL (Abstract ID:28331) O

11:30
Barry, G. A.; Crane, N. L.; Rulmal, J.; Precoda, K.; HUMAN DIMENSIONS OF REEF MANAGEMENT PLANNING: CRITICAL ISSUES ARTICULATED BY INDIGENOUS PRACTITIONERS FROM MICRONESIAN OUTER ISLANDS: YAP STATE (Abstract ID:29861) O

11:45
Brito-Millan, M.; Werner, B. T.; Sandin, S. A.; McNamara, D. E.; DYNAMICAL MODELING OF COUPLED SOCIETAL-CORAL REEF SYSTEMS (Abstract ID:29889) O

Poster Presentations


Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

613
Pada, D. N.; Hidayat, N. I.; Ahmadia, G. N.; USING SCIENCE TO INFORM TRADITIONAL MARINE RESOURCE MANAGEMENT (SASI) IN THE BIRD�S HEAD SEASCAPE MPA NETWORK, RAJA AMPAT, INDONESIA (Abstract ID:28300) P

614
Pihana, H.; EFFECTS OF CORAL DISEASE ON EXOSYMBIOTIC INVERTEBRATE ASSEMBLAGE (Abstract ID:30160) P