Program & Agenda

Session Schedule


48 Acoustic, optical, and chemical seascapes and their application to restoration and management

Session organizer(s)

Chris Taylor, NOAA National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
chris.taylor@noaa.gov

Felix A. Martinez, NOAA
felix.martinez@noaa.gov

T. Aran Mooney, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
amooney@whoi.edu

Reka Domokos, NOAA Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
reka.domokos@noaa.gov

Doran Mason, NOAA
doran.mason@noaa.gov

Marc O. Lammers, University of Hawaii
lammers@hawaii.edu

Miles Parsons, Curtin University Western Australia
m.parsons@cmst.curtin.edu.au

Bryan Pijanowski, Purdue University
bpijanow@purdue.edu

Simon Freeman, United States Naval Research Laboratory
simon.freeman@gmail.com

Kevin Boswell, Florida International University
kevin.boswell@fiu.edu

Richard Appeldoorn, University of Puerto Rico
richard.appeldoorn@upr.edu

Ashlee Lillis, Woods Hole Oceanographic Insitution
ashlee@whoi.edu



Date: 06/21/2016

Please click on the title of an abstract to view the complete abstract.


Oral Presentations


Location: 312

13:45
Freeman, S. E.; Freeman, L. A.; ASSOCIATIONS BETWEEN CORAL REEF SOUNDSCAPES AND TROPHIC GROUPS IN THE HAWAIIAN ISLANDS (Abstract ID:27902) O

14:00
McWilliam, J. N.; McCauley, R. D.; Erbe, C.; Parsons, M. J.; Harvey, E. S.; GREAT BARRIER REEF MARINE SOUNDSCAPES: LIZARD ISLAND - A CORAL REEF CASE STUDY (Abstract ID:29200) O

14:15
Lammers, M.; Kaplan, M.; Mooney, T. A.; Zang, E.; Fisher-Pool, P.; Brainard, R.; MACRO AND MICRO-SCALE SPATIAL VARIATION IN THE ACOUSTIC ACTIVITY OF SNAPPING SHRIMP ON CORAL REEFS IN THE PACIFIC (Abstract ID:29218) O

14:30
Fisher-Pool, P. I.; Lammers, M. O.; Brainard, R.; DOES CHLOROPHYLL-A TURN UP THE VOLUME? EXPLORING THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN OCEANOGRAPHIC FACTORS AND CORAL REEF SOUNDSCAPES. (Abstract ID:29623) O

14:45
Parsons, M. J.; McCauley, R. D.; Gavrilov, A. N.; Erbe, C.; Parnum, I. M.; McWilliam, J.; Marley, S.; PATTERNS IN SOUNDSCAPES AROUND AUSTRALIA (Abstract ID:29340) O

15:00
Kaplan, M. B.; Mooney, T. A.; CORAL REEF SOUNDSCAPES MAY NOT BE DETECTABLE FAR FROM THE REEF (Abstract ID:28064) O

15:15
Taylor, J. C.; Scharer-Umpierre, M.; Battista, T.; Mann, D.; Bruner, S. M.; Townsend, J. I.; EXTENDING SOUNDSCAPE SURVEYS OF CORAL REEFS USING AUTONOMOUS OCEAN GLIDERS (Abstract ID:29674) O

15:30
Joslin, J.; Cotter, E.; Polagye, B.; Stewart, A.; INTEGRATED INSTRUMENTATION FOR MARINE ENVIRONMENTAL MONITORING (Abstract ID:30127) O

16:30
Domokos, R.; DEVELOPMENT OF ACOUSTIC METHODS TO INVESTIGATE HAWAIIAN SEMI-DEMERSAL FISH DISTRIBUTION AND ABUNDANCE FOR MONITORING STOCKS (Abstract ID:27965) O

16:45
Landero, M. M.; Parnum, I.; Parsons, M.; Saunders, B.; Salgado-Kent, C.; INTEGRATING ECHO-SOUNDER AND UNDERWATER VIDEO DATA FOR DEMERSAL FISH ASSESSMENT (Abstract ID:29303) O

17:00
Boswell, K. M.; EXAMINING THE WIDE BAND FREQUENCY RESPONSES OF COMMON REEF FISHES- COMPARISONS BETWEEN MODELS AND MEASUREMENTS (Abstract ID:29418) O

17:15
Campanella, F.; Taylor, J. C.; ACOUSTIC DIVERSITY AND BEHAVIOR OF CORAL REEF FISH AGGREGATIONS FROM SONAR SURVEYS (Abstract ID:29625) O

17:30
Saunders, B. J.; Parsons, M. J.; Parnum, I. M.; Becker, A.; Harvey, E. S.; A TRIAL OF IMAGING SONAR SYSTEMS IN COMBINATION WITH STEREO-VIDEO CAMERAS (Abstract ID:29342) O

17:45
Hansen, I. M.; Pettersen, R.; Ekehaug, S. O.; Aas, L. M.; Tassara, L.; Geraudie, P.; Bytingsvik, J.; UNDERWATER HYPERSPECTRAL IMAGING OF A COLD-WATER CORAL REEF (Abstract ID:28373) O

18:00
Santos, A. B.; Soriano, M. N.; 3D MAPPING OF SEABED BATHYMETRY USING TEARDROP AND SIDESCAN SONAR (Abstract ID:29239) O

Poster Presentations


Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

522
Gammaru, A. A.; Villanoy, C. L.; Solera, L. A.; REEF-SCALE STUDIES OF BOUNDARY LAYER FLOWS AT DIFFERENT BOTTOM TYPES (Abstract ID:29355) P