Program and Agenda

Society Award Lectures

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

10:30 am – 12:30 pm
310 Theater

Each presentartion is 40 minutes including introductions, talk and Q&A. The web schedule and app list them as 30 minute presentation due to technical contriaints.

The AGU Sverdrup Award Lecture

Dissolved Organic Matter in the Ocean Carbon Cycle

Dennis A. Hansell, RSMAS, University of Miami, USA

Twenty-five years ago, dissolved organic matter (DOM) held modest interest to the ocean science community; the few measurements reported suggested a huge yet relatively quiescent pool. As the ocean carbon cycle emerged as a major uncertainty though, and our ignorance of DOM was highlighted, biogeochemical considerations of the pool gained a momentum that continues today. Misdirections were common at that restart as our understanding of DOM's dynamics was flawed, costing several years and great investment to overcome. This presentation tells the story of complacency, false starts, determination and compelling advances in this burgeoning discipline.

The Harald Ulrik Sverdrup Lecture honors the life and work of geophysicist, Harald Sverdrup. The Sverdrup Lecturer is selected for exemplifying Harald Sverdrup’s work with outstanding contributions to the basic science of the atmosphere and the oceans and/or unselfish service promoting cooperation in atmospheric and oceanographic research.

We congratulate this year’s winner:

Dennis A. Hansell, RSMAS, University of Miami, USA

Dr. Hansell is professor in the Division of Marine & Atmospheric Chemistry at the UM Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science. He served as chairman of the United States Carbon Cycle Scientific Steering Group from 2010 through 2013. Widely published and cited, Dr. Hansell’s research interests are in the biogeochemistry of marine carbon and the major nutrients, with a particular focus on the role of marine dissolved organic matter in elemental cycling. He investigates biogeochemical processes in the open ocean and polar seas, using observational approaches such as process studies, time-series, and hydrographic surveys. Dr. Hansell’s lecture will focus on progress in scientific understanding of the dynamics of organic material dissolved in the ocean, one of Earth’s major reservoirs of carbon.

The ASLO G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award

The ASLO G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award honors a limnology and oceanography scientist who has made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promises a continuing legacy of scientific excellence.

The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award has been presented annually since 1982 to recognize excellence in any aspect of limnology or oceanography. The award is intended to symbolize the quality and innovations toward which the society strives and to remind its members of these goals. In lending his name to the award, Hutchinson asked that recipients be scientists who had made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promised a continuing legacy of scientific excellence.

We congratulate this year’s winner:

Gerhard J. Herndl, Department of Marine Biology, University of Vienna

Prof. Gerhard J. Herndl is recognized for his contributions to the development of oceanography and aquatic microbial ecology, for broadening our understanding of the interactions between microbes and marine biogeochemical cycles, for spearheading the exploration of the dark ocean, and for his excellence and dedication to training and community service.

The TOS Munk Award Lecture

Ten Years of Seismic Oceanography:  Accomplishments and Challenges

Dr. W. Steven Holbrook, Professor of Geophysics, University of Wyoming, and Adjunct Scientist, Physical Oceanography Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

“Seismic oceanography” (SO) – the use of low-frequency marine seismic reflection data to image thermohaline fine-structure in the water column – began in 2003, with the publication of a paper in Science.  Over the past ten years, the nascent SO community has demonstrated that reflection seismology can image thermohaline finestructure, over large areas, from temperature contrasts in the ocean of only a few hundredths of a ˚C.  The resulting images illuminate many diverse oceanic phenomena, including fronts, water mass boundaries, internal wave displacements, internal tide beams, eddies, turbulence, and lee waves.  Beyond merely producing spectacular images of ocean structure, low-frequency reflections can be processed to produce quantitative estimates of sound speed (and thus ocean temperature), turbulence dissipation, and vertical mode structure over full ocean depths, as long as fine-structure reflections are present.  Yet SO has failed to become a standard tool for physical oceanographers, partly due to disciplinary boundaries, and partly due to the perceived high expense of seismic data acquisition.  I will present examples of the successes of SO and discuss approaches to meet the challenges to the adoption of SO as a commonly used technique to study physical oceanographic processes.

The Walter Munk Award is granted jointly by The Oceanography Society, the Office of Naval Research and the Office of the Oceanographer of the Navy. Recipients are selected based on their:

  • Significant original contributions to the understanding of physical ocean processes related to sound in the sea
  • Significant original contributions to the application of acoustic methods to that understanding
  • Outstanding service that fosters research in ocean science and instrumentation contributing to the above.

We congratulate the most recent recipient of The Munk Award:

Dr. W. Steven Holbrook, Professor of Geophysics, University of Wyoming, and Adjunct Scientist, Physical Oceanography Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

Steve Holbrook is honored as the father of the new field of “Seismic Oceanography”. His use of low frequency seismic reflection profiling to image the water column has provided quantitative and novel insights into the structure and dynamics of internal waves, eddies and mixing processes. With his innate and relentless curiosity, he has provided unprecedented views of the internal workings of the ocean. His generous collegiality has also been a stimulus to the formation of an interdisciplinary seismic oceanography community.