Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official 2012 OSM Twitter Feed Official OSM 2012 Facebook Page

Kanda, J. ., Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, jkanda@kaiyodai.ac.jp
Ishimaru, T. ., Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, ishimaru@kaiyodai.ac.jp
Ito, Y. ., Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, yukari-i@kaiyodai.ac.jp
Aono, T. ., National Institute of Radiological Sciences, Chiba, Japan, t_aono@nirs.go.jp
Watanabe, Y. W., Faculty of Environmental Earth Science, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, yywata@ees.hokudai.ac.jp
Aoyama, M. ., Meteorological Research Institute, Tsukuba, Japan, maoyama@mri-jma.go.jp
Hamajima, Y. ., LLRL, Kanazawa University, Nomi, Japan, hama@cacheibm.s.kanazawa-u.ac.jp
Tsuda, A. ., AORI, University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, Japan, tsuda@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Uematsu, M. ., AORI, University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, Japan, uematsu@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Igarashi, S. ., Fukushima Prefectural Fisheries Experimental Station, Iwaki, Japan, igarashi_satoshi_01@pref.fukushima.jp

CESIUM-137 DISPERSION AND BIOLOGICAL TRANSFER IN PELAGIC AND BENTHIC ECOSYSTEMS OFF THE COAST OF FUKUSHIMA

Following the release of radionuclides from the Fukushima Dai-ichi Nuclear Power Plant, radioactivity was detected in seawater, sediment and various marine organisms including edible fishes. Consequently, commercial fishing is banned in Fukushima regions and the local fishery industry is severely damaged. Projections for future development of radioactivity in commercially important fish species will depend on proper understandings of paths and transfer mechanisms of radioactive materials within biota and environment. Distribution of radioactivity among marine biological community is, however, only poorly depicted so far. We report cesium-137 data from a cruise of R/V Umitaka-maru conducted in July 2011 at sites along 37oN or about 45km south of the power plant. The cruise was dedicated to a comprehensive survey of radioactivity distribution in seawater, sediment, plankton, benthos, and fish species. Combining other available information, we will discuss radioactivity transfer in pelagic and benthic ecosystems in this region.

Session #:088
Date: 2/21/2012
Time: 14:00
Location: Ballroom E

Presentation is given by student: No