Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official 2012 OSM Twitter Feed Official OSM 2012 Facebook Page

Phan, T. M., Ritsumeikan University, Kusatsu, Shiga, Japan, tuy_phan@yahoo.com
Uchiyama, Y. ., Kobe University, Kobe, Japan, uchiyama@harbor.kobe-u.ac.jp
Bonner, J. ., Clarkson University, Potsdam NY, USA, jbonner@clarkson.edu
Ojo, T. ., Clarkson University, Potsdam NY, USA, tojo@clarkson.edu
Wells, J. C., Ritsumeikan University, Kusatsu, Shiga, Japan, jwells@se.ritsumei.ac.jp
Fuller, C. ., Clarkson University, Potsdam NY, USA, cfuller@clarkson.edu
Islam, M. ., Clarkson University, Potsdam NY, USA, sislam@clarkson.edu
Kirkey, W. ., Clarkson University, Potsdam NY, USA, wkirkey@clarkson.edu
Ishii, S. ., Kobe University, Kobe, Japan, uchiyama@harbor.kobe-u.ac.jp
Nishii, T. ., Kobe University, Kobe, Japan, uchiyama@harbor.kobe-u.ac.jp

HIGHLY-RESOLVED FLOW COMPUTATIONS IN THE HUDSON RIVER ESTUARY

We present highly-resolved computations and measurements of flow in a bend of the Hudson River Estuary around the Indian Point power plant, where thermal discharge may affect the ecosystem. ROMS modelling is performed in a domain between the USGS gauging stations at Poughkeepsie and Piermont. Higher-resolution Large Eddy Simulation (LES) is then done to resolve large-scale turbulent motions in the near-bank regions, applying the standard Smagorinsky model in the commercial software Fluent 6.3.26. In a shear layer at the edge of a shallow region, vortices are observed to roll up in the LES though not in k-epsilon URANS on the same grid. Proper Orthogonal Decomposition (POD; equivalent to Empirical Orthogonal Functions) is found to effectively identify these vortices. To check the computations, field measurements of discharge, and velocity and temperature profiles, around the ADCP station at West Point and the thermal plume from the power plant are performed.

Poster presentation

Session #:067
Date: 2/23/2012
Time: 10:30 - 16:00
Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

Presentation is given by student: No

PosterID: B1061