Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official 2012 OSM Twitter Feed Official OSM 2012 Facebook Page

Aono, T. ., National Institute of Radiological Sciences, Chiba, Japan, t_aono@nirs.go.jp
Zheng, J. ., National Institute of Radiological Sciences, Chiba, Japan, jzheng@nirs.go.jp
Zhang, J. ., University of Toyama, Toyama, Japan, jzhang @ sci.u-toyama.ac.jp
Obata, H. ., The University of Tokyo, Chiba, Japan, obata@ori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Honda, M. C., Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Yokosuka, Japan, hondam@jamstec.go.jp
Kawakami, H. ., Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Mutsu, Japan, kawakami@jamstec.go.jp
Kanda, J. ., Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, jkanda@kaiyodai.ac.jp
Ishimaru, T. ., Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, ishimaru@kaiyodai.ac.jp

RADIONUCLIDE IN THE COASTAL AREA OFF FUKUSHIMA

The accident of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant (TEPCO, Japan) caused radionuclide release in marine environment. Although total amount of radionuclide that has entered the ocean is unknown, the radionuclide, i.e. I-131, Cs-134, Ag-110m etc., was not detected before this accident, was detected in deposition, seawater, sediment and marine organisms. To investigate the long-term behaviour of radionuclide in the marine environment, several marine samples, i.e. seawater, sediments, biological samples were collected in the seas around Fukushima and their radionuclide activities were measured. The Cs-134 and Cs-137 activities in surface seawater off Fukushima on August were ranged from 0.02 to 0.2 Bq/L, respectively, and the Cs-134/Cs-137 activity ratios were almost 0.9. We will discuss the variation of radionuclide activities in marine samples to assess these effects in marine environment.

Poster presentation

Session #:088
Date: 2/21/2012
Time: 17:00 - 18:00
Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

Presentation is given by student: No

PosterID: B1016