Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official 2012 OSM Twitter Feed Official OSM 2012 Facebook Page

Buesseler, K. ., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, USA, kbuesseler@whoi.edu
Jayne, S. ., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, USA, sjayne@whoi.edu
Fisher, N. ., State University of New York, Stony Brook, USA, nfisher@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Higley, K. ., Oregon State University, Corvallis, USA, Kathryn.higley@oregonstate.edu
Guilderson, T. ., University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, , guilderson1@llnl.gov
Nishikawa, J. ., University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, jn@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Uematsu, M. ., University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, uematsu@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Masque, P. ., Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Bellaterra, Spain, Pere.Masque@uab.cat
Dulaiova, H. ., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, USA, hdulaiov@hawaii.edu
Aoyama, M. ., Meteorological Research Institute, Tsukuba, Japan, maoyama@mri-jma.go.jp

IMPACTS OF THE FUKUSHIMA DAI-ICHI NUCLEAR POWER PLANTS ON THE OCEAN

The triple disaster of the March 11, 2011, earthquake, tsunami and subsequent radioactivity releases from the Fukushima Dai-ichi nuclear power plants are unprecedented events for the oceans. In response, we organized a research cruise in June, 2011 off Japan to study Fukushima derived radionuclides in the waters and biota off Japan. This presentation will provide an overview of these successful sampling activities and our plans for analyses of a wide range of radionuclides. For this talk we will focus on the cesium-137 and cesium-134 surface distributions and vertical profiles obtained during this cruise. The highest cesium concentrations at that time were not necessarily at the closest sampling point 30 km from the Fukushima NPPs, but 70-100 km off shore. The data also suggests that the Kuroshio Current prevents the southward spreading of contaminated water. 134Cs/137Cs activity ratios (1.0 at source) indicate Fukushima-derived cesium out to at least 600 km off shore. These results are discussed in context of prior cesium levels in the waters off Japan and in comparison to radionuclide results from other studies in 2011 off Japan.

http://www.whoi.edu/page.do?pid=67796

Session #:088
Date: 2/21/2012
Time: 11:30
Location: Ballroom E

Presentation is given by student: No