Abstract


OBSERVATION, SAMPLING AND MODELING OF HIGHLY DYNAMIC CALCAREOUS PERMEABLE SAND HABITATS

Calcareous permeable sands are an integral part of coral reef systems and account for a significant fraction of the global continental shelf, yet advances in evaluating their role in global biogeochemical cycles have been slow, largely due to methodological challenges. Our ongoing work aims to resolve many of these by advancing in-situ minimally intrusive observations and measurements, targeted sampling, and validated modeling. Our observation tools include a power-distribution data-logging instrument-control platform, dubbed PSO (Permeable Sediment Observatory; operates multiple instruments and relays data in real time), a miniature thermistor chain (miniTchain; determines porewater advection using high resolution temperature measurements in the upper sediment and overlying water), an in-situ electrochemical analyzer system (ISEA; voltammetric determination of several dissolved species), and a stereoscopic imaging system (seafloor topography mapping). We employ specialized techniques for porewater sampling by divers and ROVs to overcome the problems associated with coring and porewater loss, and optimized solid-phase sampling and processing for photosynthetic pigments. Finally, we use the collected data to validate a rippled-seafloor porewater flow model for the generation of solute distributions and fluxes in two-dimensional space.

Authors

Hannides, A. K., University of Hawaii, USA, hannides@hawaii.edu

Fram, J. P., Oregon State University, USA, jfram@coas.oregonstate.edu

Glazer, B. T., University of Hawaii, USA, glazer@hawaii.edu

Pawlak, E. R., University of California San Diego, USA, epawlak@eng.ucsd.edu

Sansone, F. J., University of Hawaii, USA, sansone@soest.hawaii.edu

Fogaren, K. E., University of Hawaii, USA, fogaren@hawaii.edu

Williams, A. R., University of Hawaii, USA, annarw@hawaii.edu

Details

Oral presentation

Session #:048
Date: 5/19/2014
Time: 17:30
Location: E 145 - 146

Presentation is given by student: No