home page | contact | help | login | For News Media | Follow us:

Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation 20th Biennial ConferenceEstuaries and Coasts in a Changing World1-5 November 2009, Portland, Oregon, USA

Topic: Monitoring

SCI-212: Detecting Change with Estuarine Monitoring

Convener: Katie Foreman (kforeman@chesapeakebay.net)

SCI-076: Assessing Ecological Integrity Using Multiple Indices and Ecosystem Components: The Sequel.

Conveners: Ananda Ranasinghe (AnandaR@sccwrp.org), Angel Borja (aborja@pas.azti.es) and Daniel Dauer (ddauer@odu.edu)

An ERF 2007 session on integrative assessment of the ecological condition of coastal, estuarine and wetland systems identified four primary scientific challenges: 1) Reducing the array of indices by identifying the index approaches that are most widely successful; 2) Establishing minimum criteria for index validation; 3) Intercalibrating methods to achieve uniform assessment scales across geographies and habitats; and 4) Integrating indices across ecosystem elements. Presentations emphasizing subsequent developments in approaches to ecological assessment that combine multiple measures of biological integrity, including integrative measures of species sensitivity and tolerance, with measures of water quality, sediment quality, physical quality, and human health are invited.

SCI-091: Applications, Challenges and Evolution of Moored Coastal/Estuarine Observing Systems.

Conveners: Kimberle Stark (kimberle.stark@kingcounty.gov), Cheryl Greengrove (cgreen@u.washington.edu), Stephanie Moore (stephanie.moore@noaa.gov) and Julia Bos (Jbos461@ecy.wa.gov)

This session will present results from and advancements in automated sampling systems used to characterize coastal and estuarine waters. Automated moored and buoy observing systems are an increasingly popular tool to gather large amounts of high-resolution temporal data for various physical, biological, chemical and meteorological investigations. Data are used for various research studies, baseline and trends assessment, hydrodynamic model input, environmental indicator evaluation, and ultimately management decisions. Substantial challenges can be encountered from the permitting phase to data management and interpretation. Innovative methods and new analytical techniques prescribed by these tools have led to progress in estuarine and coastal science.

SCI-014: Coastal and Estuarine Biomonitoring: Which data do we really need?

Convener: Simon Courtenay (Simon.Courtenay@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

When designing a monitoring program that will only have value if it survives reviews and budget cuts over years or decades, how do we move from wish-list to essentials? In this session we will explore coastal and estuarine biomonitoring programs that have survived and proven their value, programs that have not, and programs that are only now being proposed. The result, we hope, will be a clearer picture for decision makers on what information they must have, clearer direction for information providers on programs to build, and direction for researchers on questions that remain.

SCI-098: Estuarine and Marine Animal Health in a Rapidly Changing World.

Conveners: Nathalie Valette-Silver (nathalie.valette-silver@noaa.gov), Gary Matlock (Gary.C.Matlock@noaa.gov) and Shawn McLaughlin (Shawn.Mclaughlin@noaa.gov)

Our environment is rapidly changing. World population, coastal development, destruction of coastal marshes, non-point source inputs of nutrients and contaminants, as well as ocean extractive operations have accelerated over the past decades at a rapid pace. Further, the climate of our planet is rapidly changing, modifying sea level, the distribution and the amount of precipitations, and the occurrence of extreme events, to name a few consequences. This session will explore the impacts of these changes to the health of estuarine and marine animals.

SCI-084: Geospatial Infrastructure and Tools for Monitoring Coastal Environmental Change.

Conveners: Galen Scott (galen.scott@noaa.gov) and Allison Allen (allison.allen@noaa.gov)

The establishment of consistent, accurate and precise geospatial positioning networks within coastal habitats enables the development of a wide variety of tools and techniques that are increasing our understanding of coastal environmental dynamics. This session will focus on examples of how employing this geospatial infrastructure connects and enhances multiple measurement systems, including Surface Elevation Tables, water level recorders, digital terrain models, aerial photography and LiDAR. Talks will highlight the emergent data properties and the new insights that are being gained by connecting observing system data streams within a consistent spatial framework.

SCI-103: Shifting Baselines: Environmental Sentinels of Changing Coastal Conditions.

Conveners: Susan White (susan.white@noaa.gov) and Whitley Saumweber (whitley.saumweber@noaa.gov)

Coastal ecosystems are under pressure from climate change and changes in land use associated with growing populations. Coastal observing programs, while critical for long-term evaluation of ecosystem changes, may not provide comprehensive data sets and critical assessment components necessary to provide early warnings of negative ecosystem and human health impacts. Concentration of resources on targeted sites, habitats and organisms will be explored as a framework for assessing ecosystem condition and providing early warning of impending impairment. This session will explore the use of ecosystem "sentinels" in coastal research to rapidly identify declining environmental conditions and support coastal management needs.

© 2009 Coastal & Estuarine Research Federation
P.O. Box 510 · Port Republic, MD, 20676
Ph: (410) 326-7467 · Fax: (410) 326-7466
http://www.erf.org · info@erf.org

Conference Management
5400 Bosque Blvd Ste 680 · Waco, TX, 76710
Ph: (254) 776-3550 · Fax: (254) 776-3767
cerf2009@sgmeet.com