Early Registration Deadline
12 February 2010

Travel Award & Grant Recipients Notified
March 2010

Authors Notified
April 2010

Schedule Posted
January 2010

Cardenas, M. B., University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA, cardenas@jsg.utexas.edu
Cook, P. L., Monash University, Victoria, Australia, perran.cook@sci.monash.edu.au
Gerecht, K. E., Smith College, Northampton, USA, kgerecht@smith.edu
Jiang, H. S., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, USA, hsjiang@whoi.edu
Markowski, M. S., University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA, michael_markowski55@yahoo.com
Nowinski, J. D., University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA, jnowinski@mail.utexas.edu
Sawyer, A. H., University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA, asawyer@mail.utexas.edu
Swanson, T. E., University of Texas at Austin, Austin, USA, tswanson@mail.utexas.edu
Wilson, J. L., New Mexico Inst. of Mining and Technology, Socorro, USA, jwilson@nmt.edu

FLUID DYNAMIC INTERACTIONS NEAR SEDIMENT-WATER INTERFACES IN AQUATIC AND COASTAL ENVIRONMENTS

We present an overview of our recent and on-going research on flow and transport phenomena near the sediment-water interface (SWI), and associated ‘far-field’ processes, in aquatic and coastal systems. Case studies illustrating how a more complete understanding of hyporheic flow and solute and heat transport was achieved through high-fidelity simulations are first presented; the models progress from simple to those integrating information at mm-scale spatial and sub-second temporal resolution and multiple non-conservative solutes. Simulation studies are followed by experiments that show the impacts of wood found near SWIs. Finally, the presentation will highlight field observations where we are studying the effects of river regulation on surface water-groundwater interactions. Regular river stage fluctuations lead to bi-directional pumping of water across the SWI which drives pronounced cyclic warming/heating of the sediment. Moreover, time lapse electrical resistivity tomograms suggest that the dynamic river-groundwater mixing zone extends down to several meters under the SWI. Our studies are but a few that illustrate that ‘fluid dynamic interactions near SWIs’ is a fertile and relevant research field which will hopefully be represented in L&O: F&E.

Session #:S16
Date: 06-11-10
Time: 11:45

Presentation is given by student: No