Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official ASLO 2011 ASM Twitter Feed Official ASLO 2011 ASM Facebook Page

Navigation

Johnson, K. S., MBARI, Moss Landing, USA, johnson@mbari.org
Riser, S. C., University of Washington, Seattle, USA, riser@ocean.washington.edu
Swift, D. ., University of Washington, Seattle, USA, swift@ocean.washington.edu
Coletti, L. J., MBARI, Moss Landing, USA, coletti@mbari.org
Jannasch, H. W., MBARI, Moss Landing, USA, jaha@mbari.org
Plant, J. N., MBARI, Moss Landing, USA, jplant@mbari.org
Sakamoto, C. M., MBARI, Moss Landing, USA, saca@mbari.org
Church, M. J., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, USA, mjchurch@hawaii.edu
Lomas, M. W., BIOS, St. Georges, Bermuda, michael.lomas@bios.edu

HOT AND BATS: AN IN SITU COMPARISON USING PROFILING FLOATS WITH CHEMICAL SENSORS

Apex profiling floats, equipped with oxygen, nitrate, temperature, pressure and conductivity sensors have been deployed at the Hawaii Ocean Time-series and at the Bermuda Atlantic Time-series Study. The floats profile from 1000 m to the surface every 5 days and data is available on the Internet in near-real time. The results highlight some rather striking and surprising differences. BATS is generally considered to be an area of high mesoscale eddy activity. However, the nitrate concentrations at HOT shows much more variability on the time scale typical of mesoscale processes. The data from HOT demonstrate that the bulk of the nitrate needed to support net community production (NCP) is acquired below the euphotic zone (Johnson, Riser and Karl, Nature, 465, 1062-1065, 2010). At BATS, much of the nitrate required to support NCP is transported into the euphotic zone by late winter mixing and upward transport at the base of the euphotic zone during spring. However, during summer and fall nitrate acquisition occurs from below the euphotic zone, as at HOT.

http://www.mbari.org/chemsensor/floatviz.htm

Oral presentation

Session #:S02
Date: 02-18-2011
Time: 08:00

Presentation is given by student: No