Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official ASLO 2011 ASM Twitter Feed Official ASLO 2011 ASM Facebook Page

Navigation

Church, M. J., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, USA, mjchurch@hawaii.edu
Bottjer, D. ., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, USA, dbottjer@hawaii.edu
Karl, D. M., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, USA, dkarl@hawaii.edu
Letelier, R. M., Oregon State University, Corvallis, USA, letelier@coas.oregonstate.edu
Viviani, D. A., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, , viviani@hawaii.edu
Zehr, J. P., University California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, USA, zehrj@ucsc.edu

NITROGEN FIXATION IN THE NORTH PACIFIC SUBTROPICAL GYRE

Owing to intensive efforts to quantify the roles that nitrogen fixing microorganisms (termed diazotrophs) play in ocean biogeochemistry and ecology, nitrogen fixing organisms have been identified as pivotal components of planktonic food webs and major contributors to net organic matter productivity and carbon export in the open ocean. Merger of field-based measurements on rates of nitrogen fixation with molecular-characterization of diazotrophs continues to provide new insights into the physiological and metabolic underpinnings of these microorganisms. These studies also provide clues into how changes in ocean habitat influence the distributions and activities of nitrogen fixing microorganisms in the sea. In this context, ongoing time-series sampling and analyses of diazotroph abundances and rates of nitrogen fixation have highlighted the importance of seasonal to event scale habitat variability in driving the ecological dynamics of these microorganisms. This presentation will review research aimed at understanding processes controlling the time and space dynamics associated with ocean diazotrophs, with emphasis on field work being conducted in the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre.

Oral presentation

Session #:S58
Date: 02-15-2011
Time: 13:30

Presentation is given by student: No