Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search

Navigation

Presenters Notified: November 2012

Program Schedule Posted:November 2012

Abstracts Available: January 2013

Meeting:
17-22 February 2013

Kavanaugh, M. T., Oregon State University/ Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA, mkavanau@coas.oregonstate.edu
Hales, B. R., Oregon State University, USA, bhales@coas.oregonstate.edu
Letelier, R. M., Oregon State University, USA, letelier@coas.oregonstate.edu
Doney, S., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA, sdoney@whoi.edu
Davis, C. O., Oregon State University, cdavis@coas.oregonstate.edu
Spitz, Y. H., Oregon State University, USA, yspitz@coas.oregonstate.edu
White, A. E., Oregon State University, USA, awhite@coas.oregonstate.edu
Church, M. J., University of Hawaii, USA, mjchurch@hawaii.edu
Saraceno, M., Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina, saraceno@cima.fcen.uba.ar

DYNAMIC SEASCAPES: AN OBJECTIVE AND HIERARCHICAL FRAMEWORK FOR UNDERSTANDING PELAGIC SPATIOTEMPORAL VARIABILITY

Global analyses of satellite and modeled data suggest decreased phytoplankton abundance and net primary productivity (NPP) in response to climate forcing. Concomitant changes have not been evident from most in situ time series; thus, underlying mechanisms remain uncertain. To better characterize spatiotemporal variability on multiple scales, we classified interannually evolving seascapes using multivariate satellite data and a hierarchical clustering algorithm based on self-organizing maps. In the North Pacific, distinct seascapes were evident that affect both seasonal and interannual variability observed at Station ALOHA. On interannual scales, in situ chl-a, NPP and the relative abundances of eukaryotic phytoplankton increased during southward expansion of a transition-like seascape. During expansion of a highly oligotrophic seascape, abundances and rates decreased and the community shifted to dominance by Prochlorococcus. Global seascape variability and subsequent effects on community structure, NPP, and export production will be discussed in the context of existing time series data and model outputs. The multivariate seascape approach described here provides a way to connect satellite, modeled and in situ data that facilitates objective comparisons of systems’ responses to climatic forcing.

Oral presentation

Session #:SS64
Date: 2/19/2013
Time: 17:15