View Abstract

ADVECTION OF KARENIA BREVIS BLOOMS FROM THE FLORIDA PANHANDLE TO THE MISSISSIPPI COAST: A COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS BETWEEN THE 2015 AND 2007 BLOOM EVENTS

Karenia brevis blooms have been documented along coastal waters of every state in the Gulf of Mexico. Some Gulf coast locations, such as Florida and Texas, suffer from recurrent intense and spatially large blooms, while others such as Mississippi seem to rarely observe them. K. brevis blooms from the Florida Panhandle are often advected westward towards MS-AL coast and sometimes reach the Alabama coast and rarely Mississippi. The main objective of this work is to understand the dynamics that led to the K. brevis bloom in the Mississippi Bight (MB) in 2015 and compare to a bloom advected into Alabama but not documented in the MB. Due to data availability, the 2007 K. brevis bloom was selected for this comparison. Ocean color satellite imagery from MODIS-Aqua was used to detect the blooms. In situ cell counts and flow cytometry obtained from the MSDMR, USM and ADPH were used to validate the imagery. Two different regional applications of the NRL-NCOM circulation model were used to understand transport pathways. A lagrangian particle tracking software was used to track the passive movement of particles released at different locations and depths. Ancillary data (e.g. nutrients, wind) from buoys and oceanographic cruises were included in the analysis. This study focuses on the role of three main factors for both K. brevis blooms: westward advection and transport pathways leading to connectivity; meteorological events; and river discharge. The results of this work attempts to assist with the development of a K. brevis forecast system for the MB region that couples ocean color imagery and circulation models.

Authors

Soto Ramos, I. M., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, Inia.SotoRamos@usm.edu

Cambazoglu, M. K., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, mustafa.cambazoglu@usm.edu

Boyette, A. D., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, Adam.Boyette@usm.edu

Broussard, K., Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, USA, kristina.broussard@dmr.ms.gov

Fitzpatrick, P., Mississippi State University, USA, fitz@GRI.MsState.Edu

Jacobs, G. A., U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA, gregg.jacobs@nrlssc.navy.mil

Greer, A. T., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, Adam.Greer@usm.edu

Shiller, A. M., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, Alan.Shiller@usm.edu

Sheehan, D., Alabama Department of Public Health, USA, Drew.Sheehan@adph.state.al.us

Arnone, R., University of Southern Mississippi, USA, Robert.Arnone@usm.edu

Lau, Y., Mississippi State University, USA, lau@GRI.MsState.Edu

Lucas, K., Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, USA, Kelly.Lucas@dmr.ms.gov

Mickle, P., Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, USA, Paul.Mickle@dmr.ms.gov

Details

Oral presentation

Session #:021
Date: 03/02/2017
Time: 12:00
Location: 323 B

Presentation is given by student: No