View Abstract

RESPONSE OF THE CALIFORNIA CURRENT PELAGIC ECOSYSTEM TO EL NINO 2015-16

The California Current Ecosystem (CCE) Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) group conducted an intensive Lagrangian-design process study of pelagic ecosystem responses to El Niño conditions prevailing in spring 2016. This shipboard study was carried out in the context of longer term analyses by the CCE-LTER group, including satellite remote sensing, glider and mooring observations, and multi-decadal variations assessed by CalCOFI. Process cruise measurements included organic C and N cycling, bacterial production rates, Fe distribution and Fe limitation growout experiments, phytoplankton specific growth rates, molecular and fluorescence-based characterization of microbial communities, grazing due to micro- and mesozooplankton, copepod egg production rates, vertically stratified MOCNESS sampling, and export fluxes by both drifting sediment traps and 238U-234Th disequilibrium. This presentation will summarize some of our results from spring 2016 in the context of prior measurements from El Niño-neutral springs and longer-term changes in the southern sector of the CCE.

http://http://ccelter.sio.ucsd.edu/

Authors

Ohman, M. D., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, mohman@ucsd.edu

Aluwihare, L., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, laluwihare@ucsd.edu

Barbeau, K. A., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, kbarbeau@ucsd.edu

Goericke, R., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, rgoericke@ucsd.edu

Kahru, M., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, mkahru@ucsd.edu

Landry, M. R., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, mlandry@ucsd.edu

Rudnick, D. L., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, drudnick@ucsd.edu

Send, U., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA, usend@ucsd.edu

Stukel, M. R., Florida State University, USA, mstukel@fsu.edu

Details

Poster presentation

Session #:059
Date: 03/03/2017
Time: 15:30 - 16:30
Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

Presentation is given by student: No

PosterID: 497