View Abstract

CYANOBACTERIA IMPACTS ON INVERTEBRATE GROWTH AND DYNAMICS IN THE GREAT LAKES

Dense blooms of cyanobacteria are increasingly common in freshwater ecosystems throughout the world. These cyanobacterial blooms have substantial impacts on the ecosystem processes that keep water suitable for human consumption and recreation. However, the effects of cyanobacterial blooms on other ecosystem services provided by freshwaters are less well understood. The growth and productivity of primary consumers may be impaired by a shift from algae to cyanobacteria because cyanobacteria have low concentrations of some essential fatty acids and because cyanobacterial toxins may harm invertebrates. Here, we use experimental and observational methods collected over 4 years to identify impacts of cyanobacteria on the growth of invertebrate communities in several large bays of the North American Great Lakes. Associations between cyanobacteria and invertebrate fatty acid composition, abundance, growth and surrogates of productivity are investigated using partial least squared regression and Bayesian models. Findings will be discussed with reference to cyanobacterial biomass, phytoplankton biomass and impact on secondary production (e.g., fisheries).

Authors

Larson, J. H., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, jhlarson@usgs.gov

Evans, M. A., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, maevans@usgs.gov

Kennedy, R., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, rkennedy@usgs.gov

Bailey, S., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, sbailey@usgs.gov

Schaeffer, J., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, jschaeffer@usgs.gov

Duris, J. W., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, jwduris@usgs.gov

Givens, C. E., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, cgivens@usgs.gov

Stelzer, E. A., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, eastelzer@usgs.gov

Loftin, K. A., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, kloftin@usgs.gov

Lenaker, P., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, plenaker@usgs.gov

Richardson, W. B., U.S. Geological Survey, USA, wrichardson@usgs.gov

Details

Oral presentation

Session #:021
Date: 03/03/2017
Time: 12:15
Location: 323 B

Presentation is given by student: No