View Abstract

QUALITATIVE EVALUATION OF FORCING FACTORS CONTROLING CYANO-HAB INITIATION AND TIMING

Freshwater systems, from small lakes to the freshwater portions of estuaries, are experiencing an increase in cyanobacteria blooms (cyanoHABs). In several areas of the Laurentian Great Lakes, cyanoHABs have become an annual occurrence. Significant research has been conducted exploring controls on bloom size and intensity. However, many questions remain about the causes and timing of bloom initiation and determinants of phytoplankton species composition. Lake Erie Microcystis sp. blooms, for example, often seem to be delayed relative to the initiation of bloom favorable water temperature, light, and nutrient conditions. Additional conditions needed to initiate Microcystis sp. growth were explored across 4 years (2013-2016) in Lake Erie through time-series sampling at 6 sites. Comparisons across sites and years indicates the timing of mixing events, storm pulses of nutrient loading, and spring warming drive bloom initiation and, potentially, change the course of seasonal phytoplankton community dominance.

Authors

Evans, M. A., USGS Great Lakes Science Center, USA, maevans@usgs.gov

Duris, J. W., USGS Pennsylvania Water Science Center, USA, jwduris@usgs.gov

Larson, J. H., USGS Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center, USA, jhlarson@usgs.gov

Givens, C. E., USGS Michigan-Ohio Water Science Center, USA, cgivens@usgs.gov

Stelzer, E. A., USGS Michigan-Ohio Water Science Center, USA, eastelzer@usgs.gov

Ecker, C. D., USGS Michigan-Ohio Water Science Center, USA, cdecker@usgs.gov

Loftin, K. A., USGS Kansas Water Science Center, USA, kloftin@usgs.gov

Lenaker, P. L., USGS Wisconsin Water Science Center, USA, plenaker@usgs.gov

Details

Oral presentation

Session #:021
Date: 03/02/2017
Time: 17:15
Location: 323 B

Presentation is given by student: No