Abstract


DYNAMICS OF BACTERIOPLANKTON COMMUNITY STRUCTURES IN RELATION TO ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS OFF THE COAST OF TOHOKU AREA, NORTHERN JAPAN

We report spatiotemporal variability of bacterioplankton community structures in coastal waters off Tohoku area where transitional area of the Kuroshio and Oyashio current systems forms highly productive pelagic ecosystems. The purpose of this study was to determine which taxa is the key to explain the change of bacterioplankton community structures in response to multiple environmental factors in this area. Water samples were collected from the surface (0, 50, 100 m) at 5 stations during the cruises in different seasons from 2012 to 2014. Bacterial community structure was determined by 454-pyrosequencing of 16S rRNA gene PCR amplicons. Taxonomic assignment of sequencing reads suggested the dominance of alphaproteobacteria especially SAR11 subgroup 1a bacteria in free-livng fractions and bacteria belonging to Flavobacteriacea in particle-associated fractions. Ordination plot of community structures and redundancy analysis with environmental factors suggested that temperature and nitrate concentration well explained the variability of bacterial community structures. Also, the analysis showed that some taxa change their relative abundance corresponding to some specific environmental factors, implying their importance in bacterial community response to the change of environmental conditions.

Authors

Hamasaki, K., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, hamasaki@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Kaneko, R., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, kanekor@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Fujimura, R., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, rfujimura@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Shiozaki, T., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, shiozaki@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Takasu, H., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, takasu@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Kogure, K., Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan, kogure@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Details

Poster presentation

Session #:075
Date: 2/26/2015
Time: 18:30 - 20:00
Location: Poster/Exhibit Hall

Presentation is given by student: No

PosterID: 320