Abstract


GLOBAL PATTERNS AND PREDICTORS IN BACTERIAL BIODIVERSITY

The International Census of Marine Microbes (ICoMM) (2004-2010) enabled the first census of microbial life in our oceans and catalyzed several meta-analyses of marine microbial diversity and biogeography. Existing modeling-based approaches use different strategies to extrapolate global richness patterns from local ones. In our modeling effort, we employ spatial eigenvector mapping to take spatial autocorrelation into account in tests of statistical significance of environmental variables. We use a combination of data derived from ICoMM samples alongside a marine subset of samples from MIRADA-LTERS (Microbial Inventory Research Across Diverse Aquatic Long Term Ecological Research Sites) to predict patterns of bacterial richness on a global scale. We also tested our model with empirical data and model-based data from other studies. Two different richness estimators - a parametric model-based approach and a non-parametric-based approach - recovered similar patterns in richness and found temperature and distance from shore to be significant explanatory variables. Data derived from future sampling efforts of the microB3 Ocean Sampling Day will further refine our concept of bacterial diversity hotspots.

http://amarallab.mbl.edu

Authors

Amaral-Zettler, L. A., Marine Biological Laboratory, USA, amaral@mbl.edu

Slikas, B., Marine Biological Laboratory, USA, bslikas@mbl.edu

Carlson, L., Brown University, USA, lynn_carlson@brown.edu

Blum, L., University of Virginia, USA, lkb2e@virginia.edu

Booth, M., Lenoir-Rhyne University, USA, melissa@krullco.com

Boyer, J., Plymouth State University, USA, jnboyer@mail.plymouth.edu

Carlson, C., University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, carlson@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Ducklow, H., Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, USA, hducklow@ldeo.columbia.edu

Tittensor, D., United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre, United Kingdom, Derek.Tittensor@unep-wcmc.org

Details

Oral presentation

Session #:075
Date: 2/26/2015
Time: 11:15
Location: Andalucia 1 (Floor 1)

Presentation is given by student: No